news

Error message

  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type int in element_children() (line 6595 of /home/joe/public_html/littlecog.net/includes/common.inc).
  • Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2405 of /home/joe/public_html/littlecog.net/includes/menu.inc).
  • Deprecated function: implode(): Passing glue string after array is deprecated. Swap the parameters in drupal_get_feeds() (line 394 of /home/joe/public_html/littlecog.net/includes/common.inc).

"We Want a Better Future": Meet an Asylum Seeker Evicted from NYC Hotel, Demanding Humane Treatment

Democracy now - Fri, 02/03/2023 - 13:00
This week, New York City police evicted an encampment of asylum seekers outside the Watson Hotel who were protesting plans to house them in a remote, crowded and cold facility. Mayor Eric Adams suggested the protesters were “agitators,” not migrants themselves. We speak to a Venezuelan asylum seeker named Ruben, who was evicted from the hotel, and Desiree Joy Frías, a community organizer with South Bronx Mutual Aid, which has been deeply involved in supporting the asylum seekers arriving in the city.
Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-02-03 Friday

Democracy now - Fri, 02/03/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-02-03 Friday
  • Headlines for February 03, 2023
  • Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, Khalil Gibran Muhammad & E. Patrick Johnson on the Fight over Black History
  • "We Want to Be Treated Like Human Beings": Evicted Asylum Seeker in NYC Requests Housing, Job Permits

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-02-02 Thursday

Democracy now - Thu, 02/02/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Thursday, February 2, 2023

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-02-01 Wednesday

Democracy now - Wed, 02/01/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-31 Tuesday

Democracy now - Tue, 01/31/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-31 Tuesday
  • Headlines for January 31, 2023
  • Asylum Seekers Refuse to Leave Manhattan Hotel, Citing Inhumane Conditions at Brooklyn Shelter
  • "Elite" Police Units Face More Scrutiny as Memphis SCORPION Unit Disbanded over Tyre Nichols Death
  • Rikers Jail Whistleblower Decries Collapse of LGBTQ+ Unit Meant to Protect Trans Detainees
  • Marxist Economist Richard Wolff on How the Debt Ceiling Benefits the Rich & Powerful

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-30 Monday

Democracy now - Mon, 01/30/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-30 Monday
  • Headlines for January 30, 2023
  • "An Intolerable Situation": Rashid Khalidi & Orly Noy on Israeli Colonialism & Escalating Violence
  • Tyre Nichols: Video of Fatal Police Beating in Memphis Spurs New Demands for Police Accountability
  • "Every Community Has a Tyre Nichols": New Jersey Activists Demand Justice for Carl Dorsey

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-27 Friday

Democracy now - Fri, 01/27/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-27 Friday
  • Headlines for January 27, 2023
  • Memphis BLM Activist: Tyre Nichols' Killing Is Part of Police Brutality Crisis Facing Black Residents
  • Tyre Nichols' Parents Remember Son as "Beautiful Soul" & Describe Video of Beating by Memphis Police

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-26 Thursday

Democracy now - Thu, 01/26/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Thursday, January 26, 2023

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-25 Wednesday

Democracy now - Wed, 01/25/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Categories: news

Jeremy Scahill on Mistreatment of Whistleblowers & Uneven Enforcement of Laws over Classified Papers

Democracy now - Tue, 01/24/2023 - 13:00
The Intercept’s Jeremy Scahill talks more about his latest article, “The Secrets Presidents Keep in Their Garages and Luxury Resorts: The ceaseless political scandals over classified documents point to deeper systemic problems with Washington’s obsession with secrecy.”
Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-24 Tuesday

Democracy now - Tue, 01/24/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-24 Tuesday
  • Headlines for January 24, 2023
  • As Asian Americans Reel After Mass Shootings in California, Will Congress Take Any Action on Guns?
  • Jeremy Scahill: Biden & Trump Scandals Point to Deeper Problems with Overclassification of Gov't Docs

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-23 Monday

Democracy now - Mon, 01/23/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Monday, January 23, 2023

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-20 Friday

Democracy now - Fri, 01/20/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-20 Friday
  • Headlines for January 20, 2023
  • U.K. MP Jeremy Corbyn on Freeing Julian Assange, the Working Class, Brazil, Peru & Ending Ukraine War
  • Atlanta Police Kill Forest Defender at Protest Encampment Near Proposed "Cop City" Training Center
  • Keenan Anderson: BLM Co-Founder Patrisse Cullors Demands Justice for Cousin's Death After LAPD Tasing

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-19 Thursday

Democracy now - Thu, 01/19/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-19 Thursday
  • Headlines for January 19, 2023
  • Defeated GOP Candidate in New Mexico Arrested over Shootings at Homes of 4 Democratic Officials
  • Azerbaijan Blockades Nagorno-Karabakh Region, Angering Armenia & Raising Specter of a New War
  • "Out of the Lab and Into the Streets": Meet Earth Scientist Fired After Engaging in Climate Protests

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-18 Wednesday

Democracy now - Wed, 01/18/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-18 Wednesday
  • Headlines for January 18, 2023
  • Roe v. Wade at 50 (Almost): What Abortion Access Looks Like After Constitutional Right Overturned
  • End Medical Debt: Fight Grows to Stop Hospitals from Suing Patients, Garnishing Wages, Ruining Credit
  • Elite Capture: Philosopher Olúfémi O. Táíwò on How the Powerful Took Over Identity Politics

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-17 Tuesday

Democracy now - Tue, 01/17/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-16 Monday

Democracy now - Mon, 01/16/2023 - 13:00

A Martin Luther King Day special featuring excerpts of two historic MLK speeches: “Beyond Vietnam” and “I’ve Been to the Mountaintop.”

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-13 Friday

Democracy now - Fri, 01/13/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-13 Friday
  • Headlines for January 13, 2023
  • "Argentina, 1985": Oscar-Shortlisted Film Depicts Historic War Crimes Trial of U.S.-Backed Generals
  • Legendary Prosecutor Luis Moreno Ocampo on "Argentina, 1985" and Why Democracy Is at Risk Today
  • The Crisis of Missing Migrants: Tens of Thousands of People Have Disappeared on Their Way to Europe

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-12 Thursday

Democracy now - Thu, 01/12/2023 - 13:00
Democracy Now! 2023-01-12 Thursday
  • Headlines for January 12, 2023
  • "Famine Is Coming": NGO Leader Jan Egeland in Kabul Demands Taliban Lift Ban on Women Aid Workers
  • Night Raids: Victims of CIA-Backed Afghan Death Squads Known as "Zero Units" Demand Accountability
  • As Historic Storms & Flooding Kill 19 in California, Why Is Media Ignoring Role of Climate Change?

Download this show

Categories: news

Democracy Now! 2023-01-11 Wednesday

Democracy now - Wed, 01/11/2023 - 13:00

Democracy Now! Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Categories: news

Pages

Subscribe to littlecog.net aggregator - news